Wartburg wrestling captures 15th Division-III championship

Saturday night Wartburg captured the NCAA Division-III wrestling championship in Cedar Rapids.

The Knights won their 15th title in program history despite not crowning an individual championship.

Wartburg entered the evening’s finals one point ahead of runner-up Wabash. The Knights’ lone finalist Zayrun Terukina dropped a one-point decision at 141 pounds.

Wabash sent three qualifiers championship night, but fell in all three bouts, allowing Wartburg’s 79-78 advantage to hold up.

Despite no national champions, all seven of Wartburg’s qualifiers earned All-American status.

Cole Bair

Cole Bair is Program Director and hosts 'Cole & Company' from 5-6pm weekdays on 1650 - 102.3 The Fan. Follow him on Twitter @realcolebair.

Back to top button