Local NewsNews

Cedar Falls Establishes Burn Ban

Black Hawk County Joins Growing List of Burn Bans

Because of the continuing dry conditions across the state, more counties are establishing burn bans. Black Hawk County is now on the list, and will remain there until further notice. With that established, Cedar Falls City officials have also established a burn ban. The ban was announced by the fire marshal following an investigation which found that conditions in the area are such that open burning constitutes a danger to life or property. Barbecue grills and outdoor rec fires in an approved ring or pit are still allowed. Violation of Iowa Code section 100.40 is a simple misdemeanor. Cedar Falls Public Safety will be monitoring incidents during this time and will release updates on the status of the burn ban as needed.  Other counties on the burn ban list now include Bremer, Chickasaw, Fayette, Buchanan, Delaware, Grundy, Butler, Floyd, Howard, and Winneshiek. 

Scott Fenzloff

Scott has been with Coloff Media since 1995, and on the air in the Cedar Valley since 1989. You can catch Scott 6-10AM Mon-Fri on Cruisin KCFI, along with news updates at noon and 5PM.
Back to top button